Chakra Four: Heart Health

My beloved child,

break your heart no longer.

Each time you judge yourself you break your own heart.

You stop feeding on the love which is the wellspring of your vitality.

The time has come, your time

To live, to celebrate and to see the goodness that you are…

Let no one, no thing, no idea or ideal obstruct you

If one comes, even in the name of “Truth,” forgive it for it’s


Do not fight

Let go

And breathe – into the goodness that you are.

~Swami Kripalu



Connection, compassion, joy, peace, love, faith, purpose, nurturance, trust, passion.

These are the qualities of the 4th chakra, the center of our 7 fold energy system.  Anahata means “unstruck.”  Can you remember a time before your first BIG heartbreak?  A time when you lived openly, free from the fear of feeling emotional pain?

At some point in our lives we all experience huge hurt and subconsciously (or very consciously) decide we’ll never let that happen again.  We shut down our center of Divine energy located in the chest, back and arms in a posture of protection.  While this makes perfect sense at the time of the trauma, armoring against pain (namely grief), simultaneously shuts down our capacity for joy.

This sets up the dysfunctional dynamic of searching for the big L outside of ourselves.  People pine for the love and approval others (the very thing we really want from being thin)  because we’ve lost the love of Self by defensively disconnecting from our own hearts.

A guarded heart cripples the healing process.  Emotions from chakra 2 can’t move through to be expressed.  They sit down in the belly and thighs causing painful body image.  Battling to keep pain at bay dulls discernment skills at chakra 3, inhibiting our ability to distinguish physical from emotional hungers.  Energy imbalances here cause us to eat OUT of alignement.  We may be physically hungry but emotionally full so we restrict, or our physical needs are met but we struggle with an insatiable appetite to keep feeding.

Healing can’t happen without feeling.  Practicing PHAT is your main tool for Body Karma Healing.  Take just 10 minutes a day this week to work with this method.  In addition I’ve included some other yogic practices in the video below to help open and balance your heart center and get you moving towards a happier, healthier relationship with you and food.



PS-Ready to begin or deepen your home practice?  See my BKH Sadhana Starter Kit.


Follow Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *